How to Find Gluten-Free Protein Bars | Gluten-Free Protein Bar Brands

For individuals who need to eat gluten-free foods for one reason or another, you want access to protein bars that are free of gluten and won’t cause any negative health side effects. However, it can be difficult to both find protein bars and other foods that are truly gluten-free and to understand packaging to make informed decisions. Dr. Jen’s Ultimate Protein Bars is a nutritious protein bar brand that is delicious and always 100% gluten-free. 


Why Eat Gluten-Free Protein Bars?

Health Benefits

For some people, choosing to avoid gluten in their diet is a choice. Eating a gluten-free diet has been known to help offer a variety of perceived health, weight loss, and energy benefits.


Celiac Disease

However, many people eat gluten-free for health reasons. People who have celiac disease often live gluten-free lifestyles. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder where the body reacts negatively to foods containing gluten. Over time, eating gluten with celiac disease can cause severe damage to the lining of the small intestine as well as serious issues, including malnourishment, infertility, loss of bone density, and even some cancers. Additionally, individuals with celiac disease who ingest gluten may experience abdominal pain, bloating, and other unpleasant symptoms.


Gluten Intolerance

Gluten intolerance affects another large portion of the population. In these cases, eating a food that contains gluten won’t cause damage to the small intestine, but it can result in the same unpleasant and painful side effects that those with celiac disease experience.


How to Check for Gluten-Free Protein Bars

Unfortunately, there aren’t many gluten-free protein bar brands out there, and gluten-free protein bars can be difficult to find, especially in regular grocery stores. Knowing a few tips and tricks can help you make informed decisions on what gluten-free protein bars to put in the cart. 


Per FDA rules, many items in stores now have “Gluten-free” labels right on the packaging. This is a helpful guide, but that alone is not enough. You should take additional steps to determine a food’s gluten-free status for yourself because not all gluten-free foods may be labeled as such and some foods with the label may still be unsafe to eat for sensitive individuals.


First, turn the product over and read the ingredient label. Be sure to avoid anything that’s listed as having wheat (any kind), rye, barley, malt, yeast, starch, or triticale in it (wheat starch may be okay, as this can be processed to remove gluten). Even for types of food that are naturally gluten-free, like rice and quinoa, it’s wise to buy a version that’s labeled “gluten-free” if possible since cross-contamination can occur during processing. Keep an eye out for text indicating that a product may contain gluten or was manufactured on shared equipment with a gluten product. If you’re still unsure about whether or not a product may contain gluten, contact the manufacturer or put it back on the shelf. 


Choose the Best of the Gluten-Free Protein Bar Brands

Out of all gluten-free protein bar brands, Dr. Jen’s provides gluten-free protein bars that are healthy and nutritious while still tasting great. We use all-natural ingredients that provide high levels of protein and fiber without chemicals and additives. To try our delicious gluten-free protein bars for yourself, visit our online shop.

  • Jan 26, 2022
  • Category: News
  • Comments: 0
Leave a comment
Shopping Cart
No products in the cart.